contact-us twitter arrow-right arrow-down search facebook map email close arrow-left arrow-up translate

Main Header

School Logo

Great Torrington

School

Interactive Bar

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Contact Us

Safeguarding

At GTS we recognise our moral and statutory responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of all pupils.

 

We endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued.

 

We are alert to the signs of abuse and neglect and follow our procedures to ensure that children receive effective support, protection and justice. On this page you will find links to our safeguarding policies and useful links online safety.

School Safeguarding Team

 

Mr David Atkinson - Safeguarding/Wellbeing Officer - Designated Safguarding Lead (Operational)

Email: datkinson@gts.devon.sch.uk | Phone: 01805 623531 Ext. 209

 

Ms Niki Miller-Marshall - Designated Safguarding Lead (Strategic)

Email: nmillermarshall@gts.devon.sch.uk | Phone: 01805 623531 Ext. 335

 

Mr Andy Bloodworth - Deputy Designated Officer & Headteacher

Email: abloodworth@gts.devon.sch.uk | Phone: 01805 626030

 

Ms Jacqui Royse - Deputy Designated Officer - jroyse@gts.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Helen Whiterod - Deputy Designated Officer - hwhiterod@gts.devon.sch.uk

Ian Newberry - Safeguarding Governor - inewberry@gts.devon.sch.uk

David Major - Deputy Safeguarding Governor - dmajor@gts.devon.sch.uk

Mr Jon Buss - Online Safety Officer - jbuss@gts.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Clancy Stephens - Hardy Centre Manager - cstephens@gts.devon.sch.uk

 

Child protection

 

Worried about a child’s safety?

 

If you are concerned about a child or young person in Devon and want to speak to someone contact our Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) on 0345 155 1071 or email mashsecure@devon.gov.uk and give as much information as you can. If a child is at immediate risk contact the police on 999.

 

Online Safety Links for Parents

 

Safeguarding in schools is nothing new, but the risks are changing. Young people are rarely seen without a smartphone or tablet in their hand – sharing images, watching videos, posting on social networking sites, or exploring the internet.

 

As young people spend more time online and become more confident online users, the potential threats, from grooming and sexting to online bullying and radicalisation, inevitability increase.

 

To help you as parents/carers we have collated various information and resources that we feel are of great value.

Contact Details and Useful Links

Top