Posted on: 25/05/2017

The schools’ Athletics season has come thick and fast this year and is already drawing to a close. There has been huge competition for places with pupils improving on their PBs throughout the term and therefore forcing their way into the teams. A massive congratulations and thank you to everybody that has competed so far this season, they have done themselves and the school proud. Please carry on reading to see some of the highlights so far!

English Schools Athletics Cup

In our half of the Devon pool, the Junior Boys, Inter Boys and Inter Girls all finished in 6th place, whilst the Junior Girls finished in 7th place (competing against 8 teams).

North Devon Schools League Night 1

Five schools are involved in our league and we are currently in the following positions:



Current League Position

Yr 7 Boys


Yr 7 Girls


Yr 8 Boys


Yr 8 Girls


Yr 9 Boys


Yr 9 Girls


Yr 10 Boys


Yr 10 Girls



After the second round, the top 3 teams in each year group will go through to the final, so we are currently really well placed to get all teams through.

North Devon Schools Championships

Huge congratulations to the following pupils who had some fantastic individual results:

Emily Tyrrell for coming first in the Long Jump and the 100m
Amy Davey for coming second in the Long Jump
Channon Wilton for coming second in the Javelin
Anna Beer for coming fist in the 1500m
Nell Gierke for coming second in the 1500m
Modu Sambou for coming second in the Shot Putt
Oscar Jarrett for coming first in both the 300m and the Triple Jump
Adam Lawton for coming first in the High Jump

All the above named pupils have also qualified to represent North Devon at the Devon County Finals on Saturday, June 10th at Exeter Arena.

Sportshall UK Champion and Ambassador

Well done to Emily Tyrrell who has been invited to become the third ever Sportshall Ambassador. Sportshall is an indoor form of track and field for U16s. Emily was invited to fill the role after becoming the Sportshall UK Final All Rounder Girls Champion for 2017, a title that the likes of Kelly Sotherton and Morgan Lake have held in the past, so a very impressive achievement, congratulations!


Click Here to close