11th Annual Sports Award 2017 

Posted on: 21/07/2017

Our annual Sports Awards Evening marks the end of our sporting year and is a highlight of the PE calendar. 

The evening celebrates the achievements of the talented sports performers we have here at Great Torrington School. 

All achievements in sport are important to us and a selection of awards are given out during the evening. We recognise pupils success not only in achievements representing sporting excellence (county, regional, national) but also achievements in sustained effort and progress; service to the School and its community; Contribution of Sport leaders and team success. 

As with BBC's 'Sports Personality of the Year' awards there is an overall winner on the night, this year we are delighted to announce that it is Callum Vingoe who will enter the GTS School of fame for GTS Sports Personality of the year. 

Great Torrington School Sports Awards (Nominees in brackets) 

Netball - Lower: Libby Brown (Ellie Heard, Grace Cotgreave), Upper: Abi Davey (Jade Craker, Macey Goodman). 

Rounders - Lower: Alicia Stacey (Beth Stacey, Saffron Sanders), Upper: Summer Daw (Martha Boundy, Sian Tetley). 

Rugby - Lower: Lloyd Flack (Leo Randall-Hobbs, Tyler Whittaker). Upper: Aidy Guppy (Jack Hill, Toby Hookway, Max Walker). 

Swimming Girls - Lower: Libby Brown (Tilly Rooke, Lauren Parker, Juliette Reed). Upper: Emily Tyrrell (Channon Wilton, Olivia Seward, Emma Moulton). 

Swimming Boys - Lower: Eddie Mitchell, (Harvey Reeves). Upper: Adam Lawton (Oliver Stacey) 

Athletics Boys - Lower: Oscar Jarrett (Adam Lawton, Tom Owen). Upper: Alfie Roberts (Tom Robbins). 

Athletics Girls - Lower: Olivia Seward (Lydia Wooldridge, Jess Gluzman). Upper: Emily Tyrrell (Georgia Britton, Channon Wilton). 

Table Tennis - Lower: Tom Venn (Michael Newberry, Chase Moore). Upper: Aiden Davey (Chris Hunt, Tom Beer). 

Tennis - Oliver Luxton & Alex Grigg (Tom Beer and Jake Irvine). 

Horse Riding - Megan Cole (Tayla Cane, Sada Ord). 

Trampolining - Jo Grigg (Rhianne Mitchell). 

Cross Country Boys - Lower: Oscar Jarrett (Oliver Lucton, Morgan Gabe). Upper: Trai Sheppard (Nathan Board). 

Cross Country Girls - Lower: Hannah Daniel (Scarlett Taylor-Coleman). Upper: Sophie Heddon (Emily tyrrell, Nell Gierke). 

Streetz - Lower: Daisy Pitcher (Beth King, Hannah Kelly) .Upper: Cameran MacDonald (Lucy Sowden, Lauren Standen). 

Football Boys - Lower: Oli Luxton (Ben brown, Aiden Craker, James Meardon). Upper: Nathan Souster & Jack Magarotto (Alfie Stevens). 

Football Girls - Lower: Lani Sellors (Hannah Daniel, Adrianna Jankowska). Upper: Channon Wilton ( Nell Gierke, Jade Craker). 

Gymnastics - Lower: Molly Harding (Rhianne Mitchell, Madison Kirk). Upper: Jodie Rowcliffe (Kelsi Hill, Olivia Seward). 

Ability Games Award - Harlum Lewis (Harry Hendy, Abi Haswell). 

Sports Leader Award - Lower: Natillie Durk (Harry Bryant, Emma Moulton). Upper: Charlotte Bellamy (Nell Gierke, Channon Wilton). 

Best Female Newcomer - Scarlet Taylor Coleman (Hannah Daniel, Grace Cotgreave, Ellie Heard). 

Best Male Newcomer - Callum Duhig, (Morgan Gabe, Harry Bloodworth, Louis Atkinson). 

Team of the Year - Year 10 Boys Football (Horse Riding, Yr9 Boys Athletics, Yr 1o Girls Athletics, Swimming Team) 

Bob Brewer Award - Charlotte Hearn and Toby Hookway 

Craig Award Winner - Adrianna Jankowska 

GTS Sports Personality of the Year - Callum Vingoe (Emily Andronik, Alfie Stevens, Martha Boundy) 


Click Here to close